Business Model Generation

Posted on

BACK TO UNIVERSITY AND SEMESTER 2 – The pressure is on!!

What i love about this model is that it is NOT for the idle person and it definately takes me OUT of my comfort zone…..

Experimenting is key to business’ before they launch , as it helps to avoid BIG failures at the end- AGREED , MAKES SENSE,  and to the novice (like myself) sounds so simple yet MANY businesses fail to do this or go about it the wrong way. Like my post before, many entrepreneurs live in la la land(again it may JUST be me LOL) and just because you get an idea doesn’t mean that it will be successful and yield millions and millions of pounds.  At times you just need to let the idea go, but many don’t and this DEFINITELY gave myself (and the team i am working with) a lot to think about.

2 weeks ago whilst at work, there was a discussion about the company’s business model and what’s wrong with it, and that if it doesn’t change then  “it is likely that as a SME the business will fail, not because there isn’t demand for the business, but how it is run and operated”. It needs to move with the times and adapt to the changing needs of the customers and consumers…..

So, when the topic of Business Model came up, i thought what a funny coincidence and to pay attention as i could posses the link to what my employer is missing.

There are several things i like about the book, but what stuck out to me was the creativity this book portrays as well as the multiple persona’s, to which i found myself in the persona:

Mariëlle Sijgers

Focus: Address unsatisfied customer needs and build new business models around themMarielle Sijgers is a full-fledged entrepreneur. Together with her business partner, Ronald van den Hoff, she’s shaking up the meeting, congress, and hospitality industry with innovative business models. Led by unsatisfied customer needs, the pair has invented new concepts such as Seats2meet.com, which allows on-the-fly booking of meetings in untraditional locations. Together, Sijgers and van den Hoff constantly play with new business model ideas and launch the most promising concepts as new ventures.

Armed with the notes form the book and the cards all I needed to do was find a cost effective, quick and effective means to testing out my idea and what I though was a good idea; quickly turned into something else.  I was astonished by the feedback I got from the students I questioned in the LRC. What I thought was an irritation amongst the common student wasn’t an irritation or a bother at all, so in ‘hind-site’ if I was to continue with this new idea based on that particular feedback I would NOT target students but choose another segment such as public and university library. After speaking to the libraian, the feedback was good and definitely gave insight into the value proposition i had to offer, how i would get the product to the consumer as well as other building blocks the business model highlighted.

What was amazing is that this 10minute free survy yielded beneficial results and again at NO COSTS. So my question to myself is ‘ HOW CAN I USE THIS AND IMPLEMENT THIS INTO MY CURRENT EMPLOYERS BUSINESS MODEL?’

I know that this is a study about personal reflection and advancement as entrepreneurs, but i can be useful to the team i am in, outside of university; this class has shown me ways i can contribute to my employee – it is not said that via collaboration greatness can happen, isn’t this is how innovation is created and niches found?

Definitly have a lot to think about and a lot to jot down on the tool kit site!

Until Next Time

From ME to You – ‘Love, Live and Smile,  Whilst Enjoying Everyday of Every Minute’ – By Dup’Star

Leave a comment